Academic Search Elite More than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. Tutorial
Background Checks Whether you’re looking for a babysitter,checking on neighbors, or hiring a new employee, background checks can provide you with powerful insight into the activities of individuals with whom you may be seeking to trust or do business. Check Illinois is part of the Public Records tool.
Biography in Context Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 500,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines biographies from sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, and Newsmakers, with full-text articles from nearly 300 periodicals.
BookFlix Introducing BookFlix, the new interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and learning – online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding.
Brands and their Companies Searchable directory of brand names and the companies associated with them. This title is part of the Gale Directory Library.
Business Rankings Annual Searchable directory of business ranking lists. This title is part of the Gale Directory Library.
Business Source Elite Includes full text for over 2,470 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Includes full text of the Harvard Business Review (1922-current)
Check Illinois (Background Checks) Whether you’re looking for a babysitter,checking on neighbors, or hiring a new employee, background checks can provide you with powerful insight into the activities of individuals with whom you may be seeking to trust or do business. Check Illinois is part of the Public Records tool.
Chicago Tribune Historical Archive The full-text of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1997, includes front pages, time lines, this day in history, obituary searching. It offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Chilton Library Find step-by-step auto repair instructions, maintenance schedules, recalls, diagrams and more. Search by specific year, make and model. Tutorial
ClasePeriodica Índice de Revistas Latinamericanas en las Ciencias y las Humanidades. Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities
Consumer Reports Access to Consumer Reports’ and unbiased product and service Ratings and recommendations, selections from the latest issue of Consumer Reports and Consumer Reports Health, a searchable archive of the past four years of Ratings, Consumer Reports’ exclusive product- and car-reliability reports, comprehensive decision guides,access to consumer/user reviews, and much more.
Consumers’ CheckbookProvides consumer ratings for businesses around the Chicagoland area. Ratings cover health service, mechanics, repair shops, stores of all kinds and much more. Tutorial
In-library Access – Open to all library users and requires no personal information to access.
CultureGrams Find information on 190 countries or investigate the 50 states of the USA. You can find information from politics, religion and language to cultural recipes and photographs.
Health & Wellness (Gale Health & Wellness) Provides information on diseases and conditions, alternative medicine, drugs and herbal remedies.Includes access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and multimedia.
HeritageQuest This collection assembles genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials. An ongoing project, Genealogy & Local History Online will grow to encompass materials from all 50 states including over 7 million pages. From UMI.
Market Share Reporter Searchable directory of comparative market share statistics. This title is part of the Gale Directory Library.
MasterFILE Premier Full text for nearly 1,700 magazines, newspapers & journals covering general topics, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Tutorial
MEDLINE All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Mergent Intellect, powered by Hoovers, delivers comprehensive company, industry, and market intelligence. Our database of 12 million companies, with in-depth coverage of 40,000 of the world’s top business enterprises, is at the core of our business tools and services that customers find vital to their business operations. Hoover’s editorial staff of some 80 editors and researchers brings vital business information and knowledge to its coverage, updating the site daily to bring our visitors and subscribers the most up-to-date business information in the industry.
MorningStar Do your stock and mutual fund research online. Research specific stocks and mutual funds using MorningStar reports. Discover stocks and mutual funds that meet your investing needs using MorningStar ‘screeners’ that select securities based on hundreds of different data points. Use the ‘portfolio x-ray’ to see how well a group of investments fit together.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online offering over 2,222,300 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. It includes the complete BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with over 1,000 albums added monthly as well as extensive background information including liner notes. Visit Naxos and create a free student/member playlist account, and use those details to log in to the Naxos App.
NoveList K-8 Plus This fiction and nonfiction database is aimed at helping readers find the books they want to read. Full-text reviews and read-alikes are available for many titles. NoveList K-8 allows users to search by author, title, series, theme or topic. Tutorial
Novelist Plus Online electronic readers’ advisory which assists fiction and nonfiction readers in finding new titles and authors from all subjects, periods and genres. Contains full-text reviews and read-alikes for many titles. Tutorial
OAIster OAIster is a catalog of more than 19 million digital resources organized by the Open Archives Initiative. These resources include Digitized books and articles, “born-digital” texts, Audio files, images, movies, datasets (downloadable statistical files).
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. This tool is great for debates and reports on controversial issues.
PapersFirst OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
PressReader Love reading newspapers? Read them online with PressReader using your browser or the PressReader app!
Proceedings An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Proquest Newsstand Access to full-text of more than 800 U.S. and international newspapers, including Chicago Tribune, Daily Herald, Christian Science Monitor, Crain’s Chicago Business, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and The Times (London).
Public Records Electronic Database Find new homeowners, new businesses, foreclosures & sales, and bankruptcies in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry & Will counties. Also, run background checks using Check Illinois.
Reference Books Online Gale Virtual Reference Library – use reference books in the library or from home 24/7. This database contains a wide variety of books including such diverse sources as: the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion and U*X*L Encyclopedia of Science. Find authoritative information on a large number of topics. It’s like having a tall stack of reference books at your fingertips! Try these tutorials: 1) Basics, 2) Browse & Search, 3) Download PDF to Your eReader
Science in Context Provides detailed coverage of science subjects, from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
SIRS DiscovererProvides over 1,900 magazines, newspapers, and reference books; 10,000 educator-approved websites; and 30,000 colorful graphics, photos, and maps. Designed for elementary and middle schoolers.
SIRS Researcher Provides thousands of full-text articles on a variety of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues. Articles are selected from around 1500 newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications. Includes news information, maps, and almanac information.
Transparent Language Online is an online language learning program that includes over 100 languages including English as a Second Language. Also available: language blogs, online communities, word of the day, and app access for iOS and Android.
TumbleBooks TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
ValueLine The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Publications include: The Value Line Investment Survey, The Value Line Investment Survey – Small and Mid-Cap Edition, The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, The Value Line Daily Options Survey, The Value Line Special Situations Service, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) and the M & A Service. Tutorials
World History in Context From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.
WorldCat OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.