Today's Hours
9 a.m. - 9 p.m.

eLibrary

Databases for Teens

Help for Homework Assignments

Studying for college entrance exams? We have ACT, SAT and AP exam study guides.

ACT, SAT and AP Practice Tests are available on the Live Homework Help database, choose [Tutor.com Learning Suite] under “All Subjects”.

All Subjects

Encyclopedia Americana

Updated quarterly.

Reference Books Online

History, social science, countries, science & more.

Tutor.com Learning Suite

Tutoring and Career Center available from 10 a.m.-Midnight everyday.

  • Tutoring (demo) Whether you have a math problem, research paper or tough science assignment, Live Homework Help® from Tutor.com can assist you. Students in grades K-12 and early college as well as curious adults can work with a tutor in English or Spanish between the hours of 10 a.m. and midnight every day. Subjects covered include math, science, english and social studies.
  • Career Center (demo) Work one-to-one with career specialists to get help with writing a resume, searching for a job or preparing for an interview

Resources in the SkillsCenter Resource Library are available 24/7, including: Practice Tests (including college entrance exams), Study Resources, and more!

World Book Encyclopedia

Updated monthly. Includes videos & animation.

Biography

Biography in Context

Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 500,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines biographies from sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, and Newsmakers, with full-text articles from nearly 300 periodicals.

Biography Reference Books

Search a collection of more than 50 biography reference ebooks.

Also see the Literature section for biographies of authors and writers.

 

History

U.S. History in Context

Variety of historical information from primary sources and reference documents. Also includes photographs, illustrations, and maps.

World History in Context

From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.

ArchiveGrid

Descriptions of nearly a million archival collections owned by libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Useful for search for historical documents, personal papers and family histories.

Literature

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Provides complete, full-text access to the Dictionary of Literary Biography (vols. 1-348).

Literature Criticism Online

Provides complete, full-text access to the following print titles: Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (vols. 1-271), Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (vols. 1-210) and Children’s Literature Review.

Reference Books Online

Includes the full-text of a number of reference books about literature, including:

  • Contemporary Novelists
  • Drama for Students
  • Epics for Students
  • Literary Themes for Students
  • Novels for Students
  • Short Stories for Students

Something About the Author

Complete access to the print series, Something About the Author, online which covers the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and teens.

Download Audiobooks and eBooks

Thousands of titles to choose from including fiction, non-fiction, teen books, and classics.

Newspapers, Magazines & Journals

The library subscribes to over 300 hard copy magazines and newspapers that are available inside the building. Thousands more online, full-text magazines & newspapers are available 24/7 from anywhere with your Elmhurst Public Library card.

Titles in full text, in print or online.

Magazine/Newspaper Title Search

This tool tells you the location of thousands of magazine and newspaper titles in print and online at the Elmhurst Public Library and the Elmhurst College A.C. Buehler Library.

Alphabetical list of hardcopy magazines & newspaper owned at EPL

Subject list of hard copy magazines & newspaper owned at EPL

 

Local Newspapers

Elmhurst Local Newspapers

This page lists all of the Library’s local newspaper holdings.

eMagazines

eMagazines by Zinio

Love reading magazines? Try the Library’s eMagazine collection and read them on your iPad, Android tablet, Mac or PC.

General Interest

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for nearly 1,700 magazines, newspapers & journals covering general topics, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Tutorial

 

Specific Newspapers/Magazines

  • Chicago Tribune Complete full-text of Chicago Tribune (1/1/1985-Current).
  • Consumer Reports Access to Consumer Reports’ and unbiased product and service Ratings and recommendations, selections from the latest issue of Consumer Reports and Consumer Reports Health, a searchable archive of the past four years of Ratings, Consumer Reports’ exclusive product- and car-reliability reports, comprehensive decision guides,access to consumer/user reviews, and much more.

Historical

  • Chicago Tribune Historical Archive The full-text of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1985, includes front pages, time lines, this day in history, obituary searching. It offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.  This tool can also be searched through a secondary searching interface.
  • Elmhurst Local History/Newspaper Index This is an index of several local Elmhurst, IL newspapers. With this tool you can find a citation for a specific newspaper article. The following newspapers are covered: Elmhurst Doings (March 2001-12/23/2010), Elmhurst Independent (September 2001-present), Elmhurst Press (June 1985-present), Suburban Life (March 1997-September 2000).

Academic

Academic Search Premier

More than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. Tutorial

ArticleFirst OCLC

Index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

ClasePeriodica

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities

ERIC

Journal articles and reports in education

Science and Health

Green File

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Health & Wellness Resource Center including Alternative Health

Provides information on diseases and conditions, alternative medicine, drugs and herbal remedies.Includes access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and multimedia.

MEDLINE

All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.

Science in Context

Provides detailed coverage of science subjects, from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.

Social Science and Issues

ArchiveGrid

Descriptions of nearly a million archival collections owned by libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Useful for search for historical documents, personal papers and family histories.

CultureGrams

Find information on 190 countries or investigate the 50 states of the USA. You can find information from politics, religion and language to cultural recipes and photographs.

ERIC

Journal articles and reports in education

OAIster

OAIster is a catalog of more than 19 million digital resources organized by the Open Archives Initiative. These resources include Digitized books and articles, “born-digital” texts, Audio files, images, movies, datasets (downloadable statistical files).

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues.  This tool is great for debates and reports on controversial issues.

SIRS Researcher In Library Use only

Social, scientific, historic, global and political issues.

All Library Databases by Title

To see Databases by Subject, click on the gray and white “Research by Subject (22)” button on the left side of this web page.